NOTICE: Many events listed here have been canceled or postponed due to the Covid-19 emergency. It is best to call ahead or check with organizer's websites to verify the status of any local event.

Change Location × Athens, GA

    Recent Locations

      THE CALL ME ISHMAEL PHONE BOOK: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books by Logan Smalley and Stephanie Kent (virtual event) in Athens


      • THE CALL ME ISHMAEL PHONE BOOK: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books by Logan Smalley and Stephanie Kent (virtual event) Photo #1
      1 of 1
      October 13, 2020

      Tuesday   7:00 PM - 8:00 PM

      1662 South Lumpkin Street
      Athens, Georgia 30606

      Map
      Performers:
      • No Performers Listed
      EVENT DETAILS
      THE CALL ME ISHMAEL PHONE BOOK: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books by Logan Smalley and Stephanie Kent (virtual event)

      Avid Bookshop is proud to present a virtual event with our friends Logan Smalley and Stephanie Kent in celebration of their new book The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books. This virtual event will be hosted on Avid's Zoom on Tuesday, October 13, 2020, from 7pm - 8pm. Avid Bookshop's business owner and founder, Janet Geddis, will be in conversation with Logan and Stephanie. Bonus: we're planning a secret special guest, and maybe we'll play some literary trivia!

      To attend this event, purchase a ticket (or select a no-cost ticket). You will receive a Zoom link via email approximately one hour before the event begins. Ticket sales will be cut off at 7pm on 10/13/20. We have 3 ticketing options:

      Pay-What-You-Can ticket & book bundle
      Pay-What-You-Can ticket only (no book)
      No-cost ticket to get Zoom event access only (no book)
      Please support Athens, Georgia's only independent bookshop as well as the authors by purchasing the book from Avid Bookshop here.

      ABOUT THE BOOK:

      For fans of My Ideal Bookshelf and Bibliophile, The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book is the perfect gift for book lovers everywhere: a quirky and entertaining interactive guide to reading, featuring voicemails, literary Easter eggs, checklists, and more, from the creators of the popular multimedia project.

      One night in 2014, two readers named Logan Smalley and Stephanie Kent discussed their favorite literary opening lines. “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times,” one suggested. “All of this happened, more or less,” the other pointed out. And then, one phrase came immediately to mind: “Call me Ishmael.”

      As they talked more, the pair wondered what would happen if they invited readers to call a phone number and ask them to leave a voicemail about their most beloved books. But who would they be calling? Ishmael, of course. Soon, they had set up a working phone number (a 774 area code, a nod to Ishmael’s journey from New Bedford, Massachusetts) and an answering machine greeting. The initial calls they received from family, friends, and coworkers were touching, compelling, and surprising, and the voicemail count grew as word spread. As it did, Logan and Steph decided to take things further: they built actual rotary phones, which could be placed in libraries, schools, and bookstores, allowing readers to customize and listen to pre-loaded voicemails. In the time since, they have received thousands of phone calls from readers, librarians, and students across the United States that share stories about the books that have changed their lives, from The Catcher in the Rye and Beloved to The Sneetches and The House on Mango Street.

      Now, in The Call Me Ishmael Phone Book, these messages are collected for book lovers everywhere. Designed in the style of the classic Yellow Pages, there is something exciting to discover on each page, from unique phone extensions that have been assigned to each voicemail, as well as transcripts of those calls, literary advertisements, bookstore checklists, bookish Easter eggs, all organized by category. It is a must-have for any bookshelf or nightstand.

      ABOUT THE AUTHORS:

      Logan Smalley is the founding director of TED’s youth and education initiative, TED-Ed—an award-winning website, content format, and program offering that serves millions of teachers and students every day. Prior to working for TED, Logan was selected as a TED Fellow for his roles as director, editor, and composer of the nonprofit, feature-length film, Darius Goes West (28 film festival awards, 2007). Logan is also a cofounder of CallMeIshmael.com—a creative, participatory literary initiative that was an honoree for the National Book Foundation’s Innovations in Reading Prize in 2015. Logan began his career as a special education teacher in his hometown of Athens, GA, and he currently lives and works in New York City. He holds a B.Ed. in Special Education from the University of Georgia, and an Ed.M. in Technology Innovation and Education from the Harvard Graduate School of Education.

      Stephanie Kent is a writer, multimedia producer, and former host of the literary radio show on Anchor. She is currently Special Projects Director on the Webby Award-winning Masters of Scale podcast, and led The Wall Street Journal team in product management for their mobile-first news app. During her time on staff at TED she built community programs and brand engagement strategies. As a freelance producer, she works with startups and companies making the world a better place, including Singularity University, National Geographic, The Emerson Collective, and XPRIZE, among others. She was awarded a 2017 Creative Community Fellowship with National Arts Strategies Foundation and holds a B.A. in Playwriting and Literature from Emerson College. Steph writes a weekly newsletter on creativity and is a competitive boxer.

      Categories: Literary & Books

      Event details may change at any time, always check with the event organizer when planning to attend this event or purchase tickets.

      Hotels and Airbnbs near THE CALL ME ISHMAEL PHONE BOOK: An Interactive Guide to Life-Changing Books by Logan Smalley and Stephanie Kent (virtual event). Book your stay now!